Chair’s Corner – November 2017

Greetings Fellow Oregon Masters Swimmers,

This was a great year for Oregon Masters Swimming.  On the National level, Oregon Masters received several singular awards.

Speedo U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year Award – Tim Waud

The 2017 Speedo U. S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year award was presented to Tim Waud, Oregon Masters Swimming.  Since 1986, the Speedo U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year award has been presented at the U.S. Masters Swimming annual convention to a USMS registered coach who demonstrates excellence in five areas: club and individual accomplishments, publications, contributions to U.S. Masters Swimming and the LMSC, letters of support, and long-term contributions to Masters Swimming.  In 2003, Bob Bruce of Central Oregon Masters Aquatics was awarded Coach of the Year honors.

Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award – Shelly Rawding

Shelly Rawding of Columbia Gorge Masters, was one of eight coaches who were presented this annual award.  The USMS Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country.  The Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor the Walnut Creek Masters (Pacific) coach who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck.
U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award – MJ Caswell

MJ Caswell of Columbia Gorge Masters, was recognized for her contributions to Oregon Masters Swimming and U. S. Masters Swimming.  As a volunteer-driven organization, USMS is grateful to the hundreds of volunteers who give their time, talent, and expertise to help all phases of our programs.  The Dorothy Donnelly Service Award is given to those volunteers whose service stands out in its scope and its impact on the program and the USMS members who have benefited from their efforts on the local, regional, and national level.  The recipient must be a registered member of USMS.

Past Oregon Masters recipients include: Jacki Allender, Gary Whitman, Susie Young, Alice Zabudsky, Wes Edwards, Stephen Darnell, Tim Waud, Bob Bruce, Jeanne Teisher, Jody Welborn, Pam Himstreet, David Radcliff, Bill Volckening, Ginger Pierson, Roy Abromowitz, and Sandi Rousseau.


U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award – Oregon Masters

The Oregon Club was awarded the 2017 USMS Regional Club of the Year.  Successful USMS clubs develop programs that draw people in, support their swimmers, and set standards for other clubs to follow.  Initiated in 2006, this annual award recognizes the efforts of the great clubs that embody these attributes.  The USMS Club of the Year award is given in two separate club categories: Regional and Local.

Congratulations to this years’ award winners.


Tim Waud/OMS Chair

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *