Chair’s Corner – May 2019

Greetings fellow Masters’ swimmers,

The Tualatin Hills Barracudas will be hosting the 2019 OMS Association Championship on May 17-19, at the Tualatin Hills Swim Center. This annual gathering of our membership is a great opportunity to celebrate the sport of swimming and cheer on your fellow competitors.

There will be an OMS Social with appetizers, and a no-host bar after the meet on Sat, May 18, at the Stockpot Broiler, 8200 SW Scholls Ferry Road in Beaverton, from 5:00-8:00 pm; a short awards program and the OMS Annual Meeting will be held in conjunction with the social.  Cost is $15 per person (swimmer or guest). Please take this opportunity to socialize with your teammates, and meet your OMS board members and other Masters swimmers outside of the pool!

OMS will be presenting several awards recognizing volunteers and swimmers who have made significant contributions and achievements during the 2018 competitive season.

This year we had several nominations for these annual awards.

Ol’ Barnacle Award – Awarded to the individual who has shown outstanding leadership, dedication, and devotion throughout the year to OMS and to Masters swimming.

  • Willard Lamb
  • Kermit Yensen

Connie Wilson Memorial Award – Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding, long-term leadership contribution to OMS and to Masters Swimming.

  • Jon Clark
  • Colette Crabbe
  • Joy Ward

Hazel Bressie Spirit Award – Awarded to a female who has shown enthusiasm and spirit to her team and/or other Masters swimmers during the past year.

  • Erin Cavendar
  • Arlene Delmage
  • Betsy Hanson
  • Jane Nichols
  • Connie Shuman

Gil Young Spirit Award – Awarded to a male who has shown enthusiasm and spirit to his team and/or other Masters swimmers during the past year.

  • Jon Clark
  • Matt Miller
  • Scot Sullivan
  • Tim Waud

Special Service Award – Awarded to an individual, organization, business, or group that has gone the extra mile by contributing outstanding service to a team or OMS.

  • Colette Crabbe
  • Lee O’Connor
  • Scot Sullivan
  • Marcie Wily

Awards will also be given for the Outstanding Male and Female swimmers in the ‘49 & under’ and the ‘50 & over’ age group categories.  The Art Welches Most Splashes award will be awarded to both Male and Female swimmers who have swum the most events during the 2018 competitive season.

We encourage everyone to attend the OMS Annual Meeting where you can meet the OMS Board of Directors, and learn about their role in making OMS one of the best organizations in U.S. Masters Swimming.  We will also have a slide show highlighting the year.  If you have any photos you would like to submit for the presentation, please email them to: Matt Miller,

Tim Waud/OMS Chair

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *